The Social Justice Commission: What you need to know

The SNP has announced the membership of a Social Justice and Fairness Commission to build the case for independence – showing how, with full powers, Scotland can tackle poverty and create a fairer society.

The new body will build on the extensive work of the Sustainable Growth Commission and deliver a route map to the real prize of independence – a truly rich society with wellbeing at its heart.

The Social Justice and Fairness Commission, announced by the First Minister at SNP Spring Conference earlier this year, will be chaired by Shona Robison MSP with support from the SNP’s Westminster Social Justice spokesperson Neil Gray MP.

The group, which is open to both members and non-members of the SNP, includes former Chief Medical Officer Professor Sir Harry Burns, activist and campaigner Chelsea Cameron and former Convener of the Scottish Women’s Budget Group Dr Angela O’Hagan.

The Commission will hold its first meeting in Stirling this Friday, ahead of an event at SNP Conference in Aberdeen this Sunday.

Members of the Social Justice and Fairness Commission are:

Shona Robison MSP (Convener)
Neil Gray MP (Deputy Convener)
Cllr John Alexander
Professor Sir Harry Burns
Chelsea Cameron
Aileen Campbell MSP
Cllr Graham Campbell
Cllr Michelle Campbell
Mike Dailly
Rob Gibson
Ginny McLanders Lawson
Dr Angela O’Hagan
Dr Nighet Riaz
Julia Stachurska
Professor Mark Stephens
Alison Thewliss MP
Dr Eilidh Whiteford
Ethan Young
Julie Hepburn (Secretariat)

With Westminster in chaos and a Tory no-deal Brexit on the horizon, it is more important than ever that Scotland finds an alternative. Putting fairness and social justice at the heart of the case for independence will help us do just that.