SNP Disabled Member Conference: Saturday 30 January

Saturday 30 January, Crowne Plaza, Glasgow 10.00 – 16.00

Later this month, the SNP will be hosting our first ever conference specifically for disabled members.

Organised by disabled members, it’s an opportunity to nurture skills and encourage debate in a way that feels comfortable and in a space that empowers us.

In recent years, we’ve seen Women’s Conferences successfully contribute to increased participation by providing a platform for women to discuss policies that aren’t always otherwise debated.

By learning from their successes, we can address the underrepresentation of disabled people in politics where a representative Parliament would have 20 – 25% disabled members. Currently, there are only 4 from 650 MP’s in Westminster and 6 out of 129 MSP’s at Holyrood who self-identify as being a disabled person.

Nicola Sturgeon, who will be addressing conference, believes in equality of opportunity and the SNP is committed to Article 29 of the United Nation Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities by ensuring disabled people can fully participate in political life.

This conference has been designed as an unrivalled opportunity to discuss key topics and issues of the day, as well as offering a place to meet and network with fellow members. We will hear from inspiring keynote speakers, develop new skills through a range of workshops and provide strategies to overcome barriers for disabled people in politics.

The agenda for the day is below with further event information including how to book your spot available here: 

Session 1

10:00    Welcome by SNP Equalities Officer Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh MP

10:15     Workshop 1 – Finding Your Voice with Michael McEwan and Fran Macilvey

11:00     Dr Lisa Cameron MP – Chair of All Party Parliamentary Disability Group

James Dornan MSP – Disabled Intern Programme

Dr Sally Wicher OBE – CEO Inclusion Scotland

11:45     Tea- break

Session 2

12:00     Workshop 2 – Being a Representative with an Impairment: Cllr Sheila Hands, Dennis Robertson MSP

12:45     Minister for Mental Health Jamie Hepburn MSP

13.00     Lunch

Session 3

13:30     Minister for Local Government & Community Empowerment Marco Biagi MSP

13:45     Workshop 3 – Access to Politics with Inclusion Scotland and Grant Thoms

15:15      Tea-break

Session 4

15:30     First Minister Nicola Sturgeon

16.00    End