Scotland’s new ministerial team: what you need to know

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has appointed a new, refreshed Scottish Government Cabinet. Here is the complete list of Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers.

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills

John Swinney

Minister for Children and Young People

Maree Todd

Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science

Richard Lochhead

Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Economy and Fair Work

Derek Mackay

Minister for Business, Fair Work and Skills (also reports to Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills)

Jamie Hepburn

Minister for Public Finances and Digital Economy

Kate Forbes

Minister for Trade, Investment and Innovation

Ivan McKee

Cabinet Secretary for Justice

Humza Yousaf

Minister for Community Safety

Ash Denham

Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

Fiona Hyslop

Minister for Europe, Migration & International Development

Ben Macpherson

Cabinet Secretary for Social Security and Older People

Shirley-Anne Somerville

Minister for Older People and Equalities

Christina McKelvie

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy

Fergus Ewing

Minister for Rural Affairs and the Natural Environment (also reports to Cabinet Secretary for Environment)

Mairi Gougeon

Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform

Roseanna Cunningham

Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport

Jeane Freeman

Minister for Public Health, Sport and Wellbeing

Joe FitzPatrick

Minister for Mental Health

Clare Haughey

Cabinet Secretary for Transport, Infrastructure and Connectivity

Michael Matheson

Minister for Energy, Connectivity and the Islands

Paul Wheelhouse

Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government

Aileen Campbell

Minister for Local Government, Housing and Planning

Kevin Stewart

Cabinet Secretary for Government Business and Constitutional Relations

Michael Russell

Minister for Parliamentary Business and Veterans

Graeme Dey