The real opposition: meet your new SNP Westminster frontbench team

Following the new year and in the run up to the Holyrood elections, Ian Blackford has unveiled the SNP’s new frontbench team at Westminster.

With Boris Johnson’s Tories shifting further to the extremes and imposing a disastrous Brexit on Scotland against its will, while Labour offers nothing but a defence of Brexit and Tory cuts, the SNP will continue to be the real opposition in Westminster – standing up for Scotland and making our voice heard.

Ian Blackford MP – SNP Westminster Leader

Kirsten Oswald MP – Westminster Deputy Leader and Shadow Minister for Women & Equalities

Alison Thewliss MP – Shadow Chancellor

Alyn Smith MP – Shadow Foreign Secretary

Stuart McDonald MP – Shadow Home Secretary

Drew Hendry MP – Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade

Dr Philippa Whitford MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care and Shadow Minister for Europe

David Linden MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

David Linden

Stephen Flynn MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Mhairi Black MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland

Anne McLaughlin MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Justice and Immigration

John Nicolson MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport

Patricia Gibson MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government

Deidre Brock MP – Shadow Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Richard Thomson MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland and Wales

Stewart McDonald MP – Shadow Defence Secretary

Gavin Newlands MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Transport

Carol Monaghan MP – Shadow Secretary of State for Education and Shadow Minister for Armed Forces and Veterans

Chris Law MP – Shadow Secretary for International Development

Stewart Hosie MP – Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for the Cabinet Office

Pete Wishart MP – Shadow Leader of the House of Commons

Alan Brown MP – Shadow Minister for the Energy and Climate Change

Angela Crawley MP – Shadow Attorney General

Full list of SNP Shadow Spokespersons

Scotland in the World Policy Group
Co-ordinat0r – Drew Hendry
Shadow Foreign Secretary – Alyn Smith
Shadow Defence Secretary – Stewart McDonald
Shadow International Trade Secretary – Drew Hendry
Shadow International Development Spokesperson – Chris Law
Shadow Defence & Procurement Spokesperson – Angela Crawley
Shadow Defence & Foreign Affairs Spokesperson – Martin Docherty
Shadow Veterans & Armed Forces Spokesperson – Carol Monaghan
Shadow Europe Spokesperson – Philippa Whitford
Shadow Human Rights & Conflict resolution Spokesperson – Brendan O’Hara
Foreign Affairs Team – Hannah Bardell
Foreign Affairs Team – Allan Dorans
Defence Team – Dave Doogan

Finance & Economy Policy Group
Co-ordinator – Alison Thewliss
Shadow Chancellor – Alison Thewliss
Shadow Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy Secretary – Stephen Flynn
Shadow Transport Secretary – Gavin Newlands
Shadow Energy & Climate Change Spokesperson – Alan Brown
Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Peter Grant
Shadow Infrastructure & Manufacturing Spokesperson – Ronnie Cowan
Shadow Small Business & Innovation Spokesperson – Douglas Chapman
Shadow Consumer Affairs Spokesperson – Patricia Gibson
Shadow Industries Future/Blockchain Spokesperson – Martin Docherty
Shadow Financial Secretary – Richard Thomson
Economy Team – Kirsty Blackman

Inclusion & Wellbeing Policy Group
Co-ordinator – David Linden
Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary – David Linden
Shadow Housing, Communities and Local Government Secretary – Patricia Gibson
Shadow Education Secretary – Carol Monaghan
Shadow Woman & Equalities Spokesperson – Kirsten Oswald
Shadow Health & Social Care Secretary – Philippa Whitford
Shadow Culture, Media and Sport Secretary – John Nicolson
Shadow Sport Spokesperson – Gavin Newlands
Shadow Pensions & Intergenerational Spokesperson – Amy Callaghan
Shadow Fair Work & Employment Spokesperson – Chris Stephens
Shadow Disabilities Spokesperson – Marion Fellows
Shadow Mental Health Spokesperson – Lisa Cameron
Shadow Public Health & Primary Care Spokesperson – Martyn Day

Constitution & Human rights Policy Group
Co-ordinator – Stewart Hosie
Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary – Deirdre Brock
Shadow Home Secretary – Stuart McDonald
Shadow Justice & Immigration Secretary  – Anne McLaughlin
Shadow Scotland Secretary  – Mhairi Black
Shadow Northern Ireland/Wales Secretary – Richard Thomson
Shadow Leader of the House – Peter Wishart
Shadow Cabinet Office Spokesperson – Stewart Hosie
Shadow Attorney General – Angela Crawley
Constitutional Affairs Spokesperson – Tommy Sheppard
Shadow Environment Spokesperson – John McNally
Agriculture and Rural Affairs Team – Dave Doogan
Agriculture and Rural Affairs Team – Steven Bonnar

Whips Office
Chief Whip – Owen Thompson
Deputy Whip – Marion Fellows