Scotland’s new ministerial team: our top ten facts

Today Nicola Sturgeon announced the new Scottish Government ministerial team. Here are the top ten things you need to know.

1. The new government reflects the priority Nicola Sturgeon has placed on education and tackling the attainment gap, with the appointment of Deputy First Minister John Swinney as Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills.

2. To implement our ambitious plans, childcare has been given a specific Ministerial remit, with Mark McDonald appointed as Minister for Childcare and Early Years.

3. The new Cabinet reflects Nicola Sturgeon’s focus on the economy – with the creation of a new Finance role and a new Economy role. Derek Mackay has been appointed as Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Constitution, with responsibility for new tax powers, and Keith Brown will take up a new post of Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Jobs and Fair Work.

4. Our public services remain in excellent hands. Shona Robison, as Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport, will oversee record investment in our NHS, and Michael Matheson, as Cabinet Secretary for Justice, will oversee our commitment to protect the police budget.

5. Maureen Watt will take up the role of Scotland’s first-ever dedicated Minister for Mental Health.

6. The importance of the rural economy is reflected by the appointment of Fergus Ewing as Cabinet Secretary for the Rural Economy and Connectivity.

7. Angela Constance – as new Cabinet Secretary for Communities, Social Security and Equalities – will take forward new welfare powers being devolved to Scotland. In recognition of our commitment to a social security system based on dignity and respect, Jeane Freeman will become the first dedicated Minister for Social Security.

8. For the first time, the Environment and Climate Change will have a dedicated Cabinet Secretary, with Roseanna Cunningham appointed to the position.

9. Nicola Sturgeon appointed Scotland’s first cabinet with an equal number of women and men. With the Cabinet announced today, this gender balance is maintained.

10. The new Scottish Government represents every part of Scotland – with Ministers being appointed from every electoral region in Scotland.

Today’s Cabinet appointments in full:

John Swinney, Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills

Derek Mackay, Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Constitution

Shona Robison, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport

Roseanna Cunningham, Cabinet Secretary for the Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform

Fiona Hyslop, Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs

Angela Constance, Cabinet Secretary for Communities, Social Security and Equalities

Michael Matheson, Cabinet Secretary for Justice

Keith Brown, Cabinet Secretary for the Economy, Jobs and Fair Work

Fergus Ewing, Cabinet Secretary for the Rural Economy and Connectivity

Ministerial appointments include:

Mark McDonald, Minister for Childcare and Early Years

Shirley-Anne Somerville, Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science

Joe FitzPatrick, Minister for Parliamentary Business

Humza Yousaf, Minister for Transport and the Islands

Paul Wheelhouse, Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy

Jamie Hepburn, Minister for Employability and Training

Aileen Campbell, Minister for Public Health and Sport

Maureen Watt, Minister for Mental Health

Annabelle Ewing, Minister for Community Safety and Legal Affairs

Kevin Stewart, Minister for Local Government & Housing

Jeane Freeman, Minister for Social Security

Alasdair Allan, Minister for International Development and Europe