Dave Thompson MSP

  • MSP for Skye Lochaber & Badenoch


Dave joined the SNP in 1966 as a founder member of his native Lossiemouth Branch. From 1973 to 1983, in the Lewis Branch, he worked closely with Donald Stewart MP and held a number of posts within the SNP.

He then held a number of politically restricted Council posts retiring as Highland Council Director of Protective Services in December 2001.

He was Chairman of the Scottish Society of Directors of Trading Standards, Chairman of the Highlands and Islands Branch of the Chartered Management Institute, Chairman of GMB/MPO Highland and an Advisor to COSLA.

He is a member of Scottish CND and completed the first year of a Degree in Gaelic in 2004. He is a member of Kinmylies Church of Scotland.

He stood in Ross, Skye and Inverness West in 2003, pushing Labour into 3rd place, and in Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey in the 2005 Westminster election before being elected on the Highlands and Islands Regional List in 2007.

Constituency Office

Thorfin House Bridgend Business Park Dingwall Ross-shire IV15 9SL

Phone number: 01349 864701
Fax number: 01349 866327

Parliamentary Office

The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP

Phone number: 0131 348 5326